28 Dec

I want to be beautiful
Make you stand in awe
Look inside my heart,
and be amazed
I want to hear you say
Who I am is quite enough
Just want to be worthy of love
And beautiful

I had a discussion on twitter this evening with a couple of wonderful people (one man and one woman) about singleness, relationships, and what is most important in them.  We talked a lot about respect and self love, validation, and feeling worthwhile.  And it made me think of the above lyrics by singer/songwriter Bethany Dillon.

Somewhere awhile back I lost my sense of self.  I was convinced by men who didn’t deserve an ounce of my time that I am not good enough, that I am worthless, that I am not beautiful or special.  I was convinced that I had little to offer.  Somewhere back there, I lost myself.

A man can be breathtaking and beyond amazing, but it means nothing if he does not respect me and make me feel beautiful inside and out.  And I can have the greatest relationship, the great love of my life, but it means nothing if I do not love myself and find myself beautiful.

Thankfully I am single right now.  I have time to work on me.  Because I want to make you stand in awe and be amazed at what is inside of my heart.  But how can I expect you to be amazed and find me beautiful if I don’t love myself first?

2 Responses to “”

  1. Leah Michele December 28, 2010 at 12:53 pm #

    that was a great convo! really! I think so many young women (myself included) fall into this ideal that if you don’t respect yourself and give it up early on, then men will want to be with. At least that’s how I went on the first couple years of college until I realized, wait.. that’s not it…

    great song, too 🙂

  2. Laurie December 29, 2010 at 12:32 am #

    Oh my gracious this is so true… I am just learning this now. Be forewarned, it can be a hard lesson… but it is SO WORTH IT in the long run. 🙂 At least that’s been my experience.
    I love you!

Leave a Reply

