Taking The Plunge

27 Dec

I may love MN, and I may be MN Nice, but I am not a fan of the cold and certainly am not a fan of the water. In fact, I am absolutely terrified of water.

But one of my goals for 2011 is to conquer that fear, and what better way to do so than by taking the plunge?! I get to have fun, face my fears, and raise money for a great cause! Does it get any better?

What is the plunge, you are asking?

The Polar Bear Plunge is a unique opportunity for individuals, organizations and businesses to support Special Olympics athletes by jumping into frigid Minnesota waters.  This is the 14th year of the Polar Bear Plunge in Minnesota.  The first Plunge took place in Minnesota at Como Lake in 1998 and had 65 participants who raised $20,000.  In 2005, 1000 plungers raised $275,000 at 5 Plunge locations.  By 2008, Minnesota had 11 plunges, 3,500 participants, and raised $725,000.  Just two years after that, in 2010, the Polar Bear Plunge took place in 13 different locations, included over 7000 participants, and raised $1.4 million!  This year, there are 14 locations, and hopefully a record-breaking number of participants and dollars raised!!!

Here is where you come in:

I have set a personal fundraising goal of $400, and I would really like to shatter that.  But I can’t do it alone.  So I am asking for your generosity.  Please sponsor me. The donations go to Special Olympics.  Maybe you can afford $5; maybe you can do $50.  Hell, maybe $100 is in your budget.  Whatever you can afford is beyond appreciated.

In 2011, I am conquering fear (and freezing my butt off!!) for a cause.  Will you help?

So please consider pledging support.  Wanna take the plunge as well?  Join our team, I Am MN Nice.  And definitely come out to watch on Feb. 19th!

2 Responses to “Taking The Plunge”

  1. Ryan Ott December 27, 2010 at 5:38 pm #

    I can’t wait to jump with you! 🙂

  2. Just me December 28, 2010 at 12:27 pm #

    WOW! Amazing, good luck!!

Leave a Reply

