My Holiday Generosity

17 Dec

via weheartit.com

As I have stated before, I am not much of a fan of the holidays this year.  Due to family drama that has occurred over the past couple of years, I strongly dislike this time of year.  But more than that, the one thing I dislike most is when the holidays bring out the greed and selfishness in people.  Too often people forget that while many of us are making our lists of what we MUST HAVE, there are many struggling to give their families a single gift.  (Did you know that if you google “must have gifts 2010” there are approx. 361,000,000 results?!  That is ridiculous.)

Occasionally, though, the nice shines through.  Take The Bloggess, for example.  She is a great blogger with an amazing following.  Usually her blogs are full of nothing but funny shit and way too much snark for me to handle.  But when I came across one of her recent blog posts, I started crying at her generosity.

If you’re struggling for money right now and don’t know how you’ll give your kids presents then leave me a comment.  You don’t have to use your real name or leave a url or prove anything.  Just leave me a comment and your email address (always hidden and never used) and I’ll email a $30 Amazon gift card to the first twenty people who leave a comment explaining why it would make a difference in their lives right now.

The response has been so amazing that not only has she given out the twenty gift cards, but she has matched up other readers to fulfill those requests that she was not able to.  As soon as I read this, I knew I had to do something too.  I may not have a ton, but I have more than I need.  So I made an offer to either send somebody an amazon gift card or paypal them $30, or use my resources at work and send some children’s clothes to a parent in need.  It isn’t much, but it is something.

So here I am, extending the request to you as well.  Please help out.  Whether it is in the same way I am, giving to Toys For Tots (PLEASE DO!), or pulling names off of a tree in a local store, please give something.

And if you know somebody in need that I can help, let me know.  I may not have much, but I have more than I need.

2 Responses to “My Holiday Generosity”

  1. Single Mama December 21, 2010 at 10:50 am #

    I posted on Jenny’s site and was matched with a donor for an amazon.com GC to get a few gifts for my son and my Mom. I had a bit left over, so I donated the rest to another mama who still needed help.

    If the offer for clothes is still available, my son wears 24 M-2T clothes and he could really use some new clothes. My favorite consignment store closed down and I refuse to buy new clothes for him because they are so expensive.

    Thank you!

    • devilishdelish December 21, 2010 at 11:03 pm #

      Hey! Thank you for stopping by and leaving me a comment. I am glad that we were able to help you with a gift card. The offer on the clothes is still available, but it may take some time. I ended up going a decent bit over what my budget would allow helping a few people out with gifts, and so money will be tight for a few weeks. I hope you understand. Feel free to email me specifics on what you might need for clothes for him, and I will see what I can come up with. I can be found at devilish (dot) delish (at) gmail (dot) com.

Leave a Reply

