Selfish Rant

3 Oct

I have spent the last week terribly sick.  I have either the worst cold in the history of the planet or pneumonia.  Unfortunately, I cannot go to the doctor to find out, so I am just resting and trying to get better with OTC drugs.

But being sick has made me realize something.

I have always thought myself to have quite a few friends.  I have plenty of people who care about me.  But when it comes to the times when I need somebody here for me, I don’t have many friends.

I spent the last few days bedridden, sick and in pain.  I would have killed for somebody to bring me soup or come watch a movie with me.  I would have killed for somebody to ask me if I needed any cough medicine or juice.  But not a single friend did.  (Well, except for Tommie, whom was already planning to come to see me, and was nice enough to make me dinner last night.)

Now, I know I am complaining and probably seem self-centered.  Sobeit.  But I am just kinda frustrated.  All I wanted was a friend to offer to bring me some soup and watch a couple movies or something.  Because being curled up on the couch coughing my lung out for days on end gets kinda lonely.

2 Responses to “Selfish Rant”

  1. Just me October 4, 2010 at 8:20 am #

    Did your other friends know you were sick? I’m sorry you’re feeling so awful and also so alone – I really hope you feel better soon! Thinking of you x

  2. Just me October 4, 2010 at 8:21 am #

    Did your other friends know you were sick? I’m sorry you’re feeling so awful and also so alone – I really hope you feel better soon! Thinking of you x

    (might have accidentally sent this twice!)

Leave a Reply

