Lessons in Blessings

5 Sep

And I guess I am blessed
But sometimes it’s just hard to see it such.

I have struggled quite a bit over these last few months.  Dealing with my depression and anxiety has been hard enough, but doing so on top of some other health problems as well as many other struggles in life has been difficult.  I have had to push myself so extremely hard to simply keep going, and it has been one of the hardest things I have ever had to do.  It has not been easy.

And throughout this struggle, I lost sight of some things.

1) Money: Money has been a huge struggle for me.  I am dealing with some debt due to medical issues and I am in a job that is barely paying the bills.  It is hard.  It is especially difficult when I am surrounded by people in much different situations.  It is difficult when my social circle is one that has a very different idea of cheap and affordable.

But then I got to thinking… in 2001, an estimated 2.7 billion people lived on $2 per day or less.  Each year 6 million children die of hunger.  And here I am complaining because I can’t buy a $5 frappucino.  I am complaining because I don’t have the money to purchase a new wardrobe because I am bored with the clothes that I have.  Am I really struggling very much financially?

2) Health: Sure, I suffer from depression and have some other minor medical issues that need addressing, but I am relatively healthy.  An estimated 31.1-35.8 million people suffer from AIDS.  There are an estimated 250 million cases of Malaria each year and nearly one million people die yearly from it.  I have never had a disease or even a cavity.  I’d say that I am fairly healthy.

3) Love and Friendship: Sure, I am single.  And sure, sometimes I feel lonely.  But I have amazing friends.  I have a wonderful community of people who are there for me when I need them most.  I may not have a boyfriend, but I am also not trapped in an unhappy marriage or in an abusive relationship.  I’d consider myself lucky.  I have experienced true and powerful love, and that is more than many people my age can say.  I’d say I am lucky.

And I guess I am blessed
But sometimes it’s just hard to see it such.

I struggle.  Things get hard and I get so caught up in that struggle that it is hard to see how blessed I am sometimes.  So I have set a goal for myself.  Each day for the rest of the year, I am going to take the time to find one reason why I am blessed and point it out.  I think that if I do this, I will realize that things are not nearly as bad as I seem to think they are.

5 Responses to “Lessons in Blessings”

  1. Wendy September 6, 2010 at 12:53 am #

    This is definitely something I needed to read right now. I get so down and woe is me dramatic all the time, and I need to remember that I am very blessed despite all my issues. It could always be worse, and I am very lucky to have the problems that I do instead of what I could have.

  2. Miriam September 6, 2010 at 9:18 am #

    This is something we all need to hear! Thank you for posting this.

    However if you ever feel guilty because you have blessings and yet are still unhappy, don’t dwell on the guilt too much because it will only make you feel worse. That’s not what blessings are for. 🙂

    I want to commend you for being so open and unpretending with your struggles. 🙂

  3. Cammy@ClassroomConfessions September 6, 2010 at 2:37 pm #

    I love this post! Like you said, it is sometimes hard to get perspective on your own life and be grateful, but making lists like this one is a great first step!

  4. Natasha September 8, 2010 at 11:58 am #

    Love this post! Print it out and stick it where you’ll see it often 🙂

  5. naomiorre September 12, 2010 at 6:45 pm #

    You are VERY blessed, Miss Bria. I’m blessed to get to know you, and that’s the truth. Cheers to a new friendship!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

