Family

21 May

It is funny how we define family.

Most people would define family as their parents and siblings, those they are biologically and legally related to.  I, however, would not define family that way.  I’d say that my immediate family would be the following people:

I have more contact with these people than I do with those I am actually related to.  I see these people more than those I am related to.  And when I need a shoulder to cry on, somebody to talk to, encouragement, or a helping hand, these people are there to help out long before my “family” even notices.  It is a sad but true fact.  I can count on my friends more than I can count on my “family”.  I know more about what is going on in these people’s lives than I do about the happenings of my family.

This all makes me sad and yet happy at the same time.  I am happy that I have such amazing friends, but I am sad that my family is so absent.  Such is life, though, I suppose.

Their loss.  *attempting to convince myself this is true*

3 Responses to “Family”

  1. Laurie May 21, 2010 at 6:51 pm #

    It’s okay to grieve your “loss” of family… it is meaningful and needs to be owned. Family is important.

    At the same time, continue being thankful for those who have become your family. 🙂

  2. lewisshepherd May 21, 2010 at 9:11 pm #

    I feel very, very honored (and humbled) to be included on such a significant list. I mean that.

    So let me respond, humbly, with two quotes from brilliant people. The first is about what we are *told* is supposed to be family… by Leo Tolstoy, the opening line of what is generally believed to be the greatest novel of all time, Anna Karenina:
    “Happy families are all alike; every unhappy family is unhappy in its own way.”

    The second quote underlines your very profound point above, and it’s from an unlikely source, Trey Parker and Matt Stone, South Park, 1998:
    “Family isn’t about whose blood you have. It’s about who you care about.”

    I think about you the same way.

  3. Steven Klassen May 22, 2010 at 10:42 am #

    As you go through your life you expand your concept of family a little to include those tried-and-true folks that you meet. Mine is called the Inner Circle a la that really corny flick with Ben Stiller.

Leave a Reply

