Dresses

18 May

I have caught the dress itch.  I might have to officially partake in making this a Summer Of Dresses.  I have procured about five or six skirts/dresses in the past month or so, and I have spent around fifty dollars total.  Not even that, I am sure, since I have used gift cards and such.  And as much as I feel I should stop, I can’t.  I love dresses.  And I love shopping.  And I love cheap things.  So if I can find a dress on clearance and it looks fabulous on me, why can’t I spend my grocery money on it???  Granted, at this rate, by the end of june my tiny closet will not fit anything but dresses, but still.

And in realizing the extent of my dress phase, I got to thinking…

I used to hate dresses.  I so often have tried to be anything but girly because I felt that the slight bit of girliness present in how I carry myself and the things that I like is more than enough for one person.  I have felt that I need not make myself uncomfortable in something that shows off my already too big and noticeable womanly assets (use your imagination), requires me to shave my muscular calves in order to wear (hey, shaving sucks), and seems to invite men to be inappropriate.

BUT… (there always is a but with me…)

I have learned (finally) that there is nothing wrong with being girly.  I have come to terms with the fact that my assets are always going to be here and always going to be WAY more than noticable.  I have come to terms with my muscular calves (and now find them kinda hot).  Simply put, I have come to embrace my femininity and the “if you’ve got it, flaunt it” attitude.  I look damn good in a dress!  Might as well take advantage of that.

It’s funny the things you learn about yourself, and how profound something as simple as wearing a dress can be.

3 Responses to “Dresses”

  1. Jill May 19, 2010 at 9:30 am #

    U go girl! I know what you mean. I used to think that girls who wore dresses out were snotty or stuck up, but now I’ve gotten a few sun dresses myself. Dresses are flattering for everyone. I like to try to get fitted ones on top but more flowy on the bottom 😀

  2. zenmistress May 20, 2010 at 1:42 am #

    You know what? Dresses are great if you can walk in the shoes. Go for it!!

  3. Kate-Madonna June 1, 2010 at 11:32 am #

    Im proud to be a part of your family. Love you very much.

Leave a Reply

