Really Grinds My Gears

18 Apr

I just have to get this off my chest… I hope you don’t mind.

I am absolutely sick of men who lead women on.  I am sick of men who play games.  I am sick of men who don’t say what they mean or mean what they say.  Men claim that they are all about honesty, but then they are anything but.  They say they don’t want games.  They say that they know what they want.  But when it comes down to it, they play more games than the game show network.

You don’t believe me?  I will give you some examples from the men who’s radars I have been on lately.

Man #1.  Said man is from my area.  We found eachother because of twitter.  We conversed.  He called me trouble.  One night said man called me while intoxicated.  We talked for a long while (probably an hour or two, while tipsy, after barclose).  There was plenty of flirting.  He called me hot stuff and promised to call me/text me the next day.  And that he did.  We discussed going out and decided on Margaritas after work the next day.  I got all cute, and he IM’ed me at 9pm and told me he couldn’t do that night, but we’d go out the next week.  That never happened.  But a week or two later he was calling me again, calling me hot stuff, telling me he wants to see me.  That didn’t happen, and another week or two goes by before he texts me again.   Each time we talk he calls me hot stuff and trouble.  But yet he follows that by blowing me off.  I would like to think that it’s just because I am too damn awesome and too damn hot and he is just nervous or intimidated.  Or maybe it’s just that he doesn’t really like me and doesn’t really want to go out at all.  If it’s the previous, get the hell over it.  If it is the latter, just tell me and quit phoning me and calling me hot stuff.

Really grinds my gears.

Man #2.  Quite similar to Man #1.  Contacts me quite frequently, flirts mercilessly, but then will not go out on a date.  Excuse all the time, but yet still tells me he would like to go out with me.  Really?  If you do not want to go out with me, just say it and quit making excuses.

Really grinds my gears.

Man #3.  This man I was seeing off and on for most of last fall.  We had tried dating previously, which didn’t work.  But a year and a half later we had both changed and had decided to try and give it a go again.  Things were going well for the most part, but he seemed to find communication unimportant.  We’d go out, and things would be great, but it would take a week to hear from him again.  Then he would tell me he is falling in love with me and we would have a serious conversation about our status.  I would tell him I was not ready quite yet for something as serious as him, and he would assure me that he was glad to give me as much time as I need.  But then at Christmas I gave him a gift before I left for vacation and barely got a thank you.  Yet he told me he was still crazy about me.  That was Dec. 16th.  On Christmas Day I called to tell him I had gotten back safely despite the weather and to wish him Merry Christmas.  I didn’t hear from him until the day before New Years.  Self-explanatory, I’d say.

Really grinds my gears.

Really, is it so hard to say what you mean and mean what you say?  I am a big girl.  I can handle the truth.  Just quit with the BS.

BS really grinds my gears.

**EDIT**

Not even five minutes after this was posted, Man #1 called me.  Drunk.  Surprise surprise.

6 Responses to “Really Grinds My Gears”

  1. lewisshepherd April 18, 2010 at 9:54 pm #

    I’d say dump numbers one through three. Not worth your valuable time.

  2. Anastasia B April 18, 2010 at 10:33 pm #

    def. dump them! I feel like guys like that play games just to give them some self validation that they still “got it”. I don’t get it, but 3 strikes and you’re out. You can do so much better!!

    xo anastasia b

  3. Annabelle April 18, 2010 at 11:19 pm #

    It’s only worth it if it’s fun. Sometimes, the hot/cold, “Is he flirting with me or not?” thing is fun. Being stood up or blown off, however, doesn’t work for me. Or you, clearly…. So, yeah, dump ’em. 🙂

  4. Steven Klassen April 19, 2010 at 5:29 am #

    Empty flirting is one thing, but getting stood up? @#$% that. Nothing makes me madder than someone who’s unreliable. Consider this a litmus test for their personality, find it flawed, and move on.

    I think you’re being generous by referring to them as men in the first place.

  5. kate-madonna April 19, 2010 at 9:03 am #

    You’re worth more. Everyone but these goons know this. Give them a taste of their own and walk away.

  6. greekphysique April 23, 2010 at 5:31 pm #

    I am proud of you for holding out for more, even if it hurts. 🙂

Leave a Reply

