Why I’m Single

16 Apr

One of my girlfriends asked me recently why I am single.

My answer for her was simple:
I demand respect and won’t settle for less.

It is so easy for me to find men to flirt with and take me on dates, but when it comes to respect… well, that is another story completely.  I am not your fucktoy. Sure, I am a sexual being, but I am an intellectual being as well.  I am looking for more than simply another notch in my bedpost;  I am looking for somebody who captures a bit of my heart.  I am not your slave, I am not your mother, and I sure as hell am not your babysitter. I refuse to take orders or take the back seat to a man.  I refuse to clean up after him.  And I refuse to spend every weekend taking care of him or waiting up for him because I know he will be too drunk to make sure he is safe.

I am looking for an equal, a partner. I am looking for somebody who recognizes me on a emotional, intellectual, and sexual level.  I am looking for somebody who appreciates me and who I am and allows me to make my own decisions.

Simply put, I am looking for respect.  It is not a request, but instead a demand.  I will not settle.

3 Responses to “Why I’m Single”

  1. Steven Klassen April 16, 2010 at 3:24 pm #

    This is a great post. I know too many women who settled and are now dealing with some guy who doesn’t respect *himself* enough to pick up a book and learn something he didn’t know last week.

  2. lewisshepherd April 16, 2010 at 9:36 pm #

    Easy for me to say, but you are RIGHT and you will not regret sticking to this approach, and holding guys to this high bar. I had the male version of this attitude when I was your age (me being ancient of course) and am glad I didn’t “settle” … I mean, really really glad. Life is long, the right partner makes all the difference.

  3. Anastasia B April 18, 2010 at 10:38 am #

    AMEN SISTER!

    xo anastasia b

Leave a Reply

