Is giving birth what makes a female a woman?

8 Apr

Most women will tell you that when they see newborns, they get the baby itch.  Not I.

In fact, not only do newborns not give me the baby itch, but they make me want to run.  Sure, I love kids, but only after the age of about 4 or 5.  Anything smaller than that makes me want to run.  I can honestly say that I do not want to give birth.  I have absolutely no drive to have a child of my own flesh and blood.  I do not get the baby itch.  I do not get the happy fuzzy feeling around the little ones.

When I have expressed this to people, most are shocked, and some think it is flat out wrong of me.  I do not understand it.  I get asked if it is because I do not want to go through the pain of being pregnant and giving birth.  Sure, that makes it all a little grosser/scarier, but that is not my reasoning.  I get asked things like “Are you sure that you are human?” and “I thought you were a woman… and women want babies.”

Why is it so hard for the world to understand that I do not want to have my own biological children children?

Why is it so hard to understand that I would prefer to adopt or be a step-mom than have kids of my own?

Or are these people correct?

Am I not human because of my lack of desire for babies?

Am I a bad person for it?

Is giving birth what makes a female a woman?

3 Responses to “Is giving birth what makes a female a woman?”

  1. Laurie April 8, 2010 at 8:56 am #

    Hell no. I have a friend who feels the same way. I don’t think it’s bad or wrong at all, it’s just who you are.

  2. Ania April 9, 2010 at 11:49 am #

    Oh, don’t worry! You are not alone!
    I am simply terrfied when I have to do anything with a small baby – I just don’t feel that it’s my time to care of such small, dependent creatures.

    Ania

  3. Steven Klassen April 12, 2010 at 9:33 pm #

    Nothing could be further from the truth. You’re completely human, and the fact that you’re able to control the urge to go forth and multiply simply means you’re taking in all the factors and you’ve come to a reasonable conclusion subconsciously. That turns into an ick feeling when you think about procreating. Perfectly normal.

    P.S. You rock.

Leave a Reply

