Relationship Checklist

24 Mar

I think that ever single person in the dating world has a list of standards and expectations, a wish list.  My list of things I would love to find in a man is a mixture of expected and slightly excessive.

  • Older than me.
  • Loves sports.
  • Kind eyes.
  • Honest.
  • Enjoys traveling.
  • Passionate about something (other than video games).
  • Not a picky eater.
  • Jewish.
  • Good relationship with family.
  • Likes reading (bonus points if they enjoy news/business/history related materials).
  • Owns at least one suit.
  • Enjoys beer.
  • Believes football on the weekends is religion.
  • Involved with at least one nonprofit.
  • Enjoys solitude.
  • Politically aware.
  • Respectful of boundaries.
  • Owns more than four pairs of shoes.
  • Chivalrous.
  • Thinks superheroes are cool.
  • Enjoys jazz music.
  • Good communication skills.
  • Lives life without regrets.
  • Enjoys grilling.
  • Likes to cook.
  • Artistic.
  • Financially Stable.
  • A bit nerdy.
  • Environmentally conscious/friendly.
  • Believes in monogamy.

Although my list is considered pretty acceptable, it still puts a filter on my search.  I look at the pool of prospective men not with a mindset of  “I wonder if there is a man there who is all that he wishes to be and could be a good fit and complement who I am?” but instead with a mindset of  “I wonder if there is a man out here who is everything I think he should be?”.  It is like putting on a pair of dark sunglasses.  Sure, they keep out the damaging rays and protect my eyes, but they also block out the color that makes the world the beautiful place it is.

I have challenged myself to remove the sunglasses, and I challenge all the singles I know to do so as well.  Take off the filter and go on a date with somebody whom you wouldn’t normally.  Let your guard down (but not your morals) and give it a try.  Find a woman or man who intrigues you on some level but doesn’t fit your laundry list of requirements and go out.  See how it goes.  You might be surprised at how much fun you have, or who you might meet.

5 Responses to “Relationship Checklist”

  1. Doniree March 24, 2010 at 3:18 am #

    I recently added “has sleeve tattoos” to my list. Hey, we can put it out there, right?

    • devilishdelish March 24, 2010 at 3:22 am #

      I just realized when typing this I forgot to add one of my top traits… that he be Jewish. I think it is right there with your sleeve tattoos… we can throw it out there and hope he fits the bill. hehehe

  2. @shortestgirl March 24, 2010 at 3:20 am #

    Hmm… This topic sounds oddly familiar.

  3. Steven Klassen March 24, 2010 at 3:34 am #

    That sounds pretty reasonable. These sound like some good criteria for an eHarmony post, too.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Setting yourself up for failure. « DevilishDelish - April 17, 2010

    […]  Exchanging details and what we are looking for, all matches up.  I have even had men read my Relationship Checklist and declare themselves perfect for me.  Our DMs, IMs, and TMs are lively and all seems to be going […]

Leave a comment