To love oneself is the beginning of a life-long romance.

11 Mar

Oscar Wilde was a very smart man.  He always has a way of getting me thinking.

They say that you can’t love others until you love yourself.  There is so much truth to that.

I have spent so much of my life being unhappy with my family, friends, job, looks, weight, financial situation… there has always been something I have been unhappy about.  Recently, though, that has changed.  I have done a 360.  No longer do I look at the world with frustration.  I look at the world with eyes of optimism and thankfulness.  I look at the world through eyes of happiness and appreciation.

I am content.

Sure, there are things that I don’t have yet that I would like.  But the thing is, I have so much more than so many.  I have a family.  I have friends.  I have a job and more money than a lot of the world.  My weight isn’t near ideal, but I can work on that and fix it.  I have flaws, but I can fix them.  And really, the flaws are what give me character; what makes me who I am.

I have come to truly love myself and love life.  And it is now that I find that I could actually be capable of really truly consciously loving others.  I am happy with myself and my place in life.  I am just plain happy.  And it is now that I find that I could actually be capable of being happy in a relationship.

You can’t love others until you love yourself.  You can’t be happy in a relationship with somebody else until you are happy in your relationship with yourself.  Because, ultimately, isn’t a relationship about connecting and forming a life together?  Isn’t it about finding somebody to become one with?  How can you join lives successfully if you aren’t yet whole yourself?  How can you give away a part of yourself without it being damaging when you don’t have all of yourself to begin with?

One Response to “To love oneself is the beginning of a life-long romance.”

  1. Steven Klassen March 11, 2010 at 12:50 pm #

    This is a really fantastic post. How good did it feel to simply type “I am content”? There’s nothing quite so life-affirming as realizing that you are what you’re meant to be and all of life’s possibilities are open to you.

    I enjoy you, my friend.

Leave a Reply

