I Am…

9 Mar

I am.

I am a lover. I love the little things in life.  I love the wind blowing in my hair.  I love the rush of music pulsing through my ears.  I love quiet night spent at home with the dogs in front of the television.  I love crazy nights on the town with friends.  I love vodka and whiskey, sometimes a little too much.  I love sitting on a dock, a beach, or a mountaintop in silence, becoming one with nature.  I love a good movie, and sometimes a bad one too.  I love fresh flowers and owls and brownies.  I love romance.  I love kisses on the cheek and forehead.  I love holding hands.  I love slowdancing.  I love the thrill of something new, but I also love the familiar and comfortable.  I love cooking, and I love eating as well.  I love Jewish men (I think it is the big nose).  I love my sister.  I love traveling.  I love a warm shower, and I love the peaceful feeling of rain on a warm summer day.

I am a fighter. I fight for what is right.  I fight to protect my heart.  I fight for those I care about.  I fight for those who can’t fight for themselves.  I fight when I want something.  I fight when I deserve things, and even when I don’t.  I fight hard and hate admitting defeat.  I fight even when its the hardest thing I have ever done.

I am a dreamer.  I dream of peace in the world.  I dream of finding love one day, but before that happens, I dream of having fun.  I dream of the day when I can curl up on the couch with a wonderful man and know that he is all mine.  I dream of traveling to Greece and of seeing places like Paris and Sydney.  I dream of days without headaches and a United States with Universal Healthcare.  I dream most of all, though, of lifelong happiness.

I am a believer. I believe that everything will be alright.  I believe in karma.  I believe in the importance of family.  I believe in chivalry.  I believe in respecting everyone, including myself.  I believe in owning up to your faults.  I believe in freedom.  I believe in equality for everyone.  I believe that it is okay to have dessert before dinner sometimes.  I believe in champagne with breakfast, lunch, and dinner.  I believe in paying it forward.  I believe in forgiveness.  I believe in living a life of love and lust and excitement, but in moderation.

I am afraid. I am afraid of water.  I am afraid of spiders.  I am afraid of failure.  I am afraid of death.  I am afraid of the wheel.  I am afraid of spending forever alone.  I am afraid of the unknown.

I am hopeful. I am hopeful that one day we will have world peace.  I am hopeful that I will finish college.  I am hopeful that one day I will find someone who completes me.  I am hopeful that my sister will have more opportunities and more people in life that push her to be successful than i do.  I am hopeful that one day I will get all that I need and want in life.

I am a lover and a fighter.  I am a dreamer and a believer.  I am afraid but I am hopeful.  I am strong yet I am weak.  I am bruised but still alive.  I am everything and nothing.  I am me…

…Simple as that.

2 Responses to “I Am…”

  1. Laurie March 9, 2010 at 5:47 am #

    I really like your writing, Brianna. It’s gotten better over the years, and so have you. I know it’s been a long time since we talked or really clicked, but after reading this, I realize why we were friends and why we catch up every so often. We have different beliefs and different values at times but we think very alike. I don’t mean that in a weird judgmental way, I mean that in an, “I respect you very much” way.
    You’re bright, and beautiful, and strong, and I know you will continue to be.
    Love.

  2. Steven Klassen March 9, 2010 at 1:51 pm #

    Wootah chivalry!

Leave a Reply

