Noticing Your Blessings: The Impact of Twitter on My Life

16 Feb

Not everybody understands twitter.  And not everybody wants to.  They think its simply another waste of time.  But twitter is a community, an ever-growing family.  In the year and a half that I have been on twitter, I have met many amazing people.  I have made some great friends that I never would have known otherwise.  And there are also the unspoken heroes… the people who have changed my life and don’t even know it.  So I am going to start writing about them.

Every once in awhile we need to remind ourselves how blessed we are.  In the same way, we need to let others know that who they are matters and that they do have an impact on others.  So every couple of days, I am going to update this blog with a post about somebody whom I have come to know solely because of twitter that has changed my life in some way, big or small.  And that starts now.

One of the first people that comes to mind is a woman I met for the first time only about three weeks ago.  I had seen her on twitter (she is quite a popular lady in these parts), but we’d never conversed.  But the from the very moment she said hello, the optimism and positivity of @girlmeetsgeek was obvious.  Her personality and laugh are infectious.  She is encouraging and caring and beyond delightful.  It’s obvious in her tweets and on her blog (http://www.girlmeetsgeek.com/)… she has a huge heart and is nothing but genuine.  Whether her own struggle or someone else’s (like when i was in crisis over the loss of my hair), she is strong and doesn’t give up.  I’ve been reading back through quite a bit of her blog because, well, I have many lessons to learn from her.  So to the dear Kate-Madonna, thank you for being such a delight and unknowingly challenging my at times loathing self pity.  You are amazing!  Don’t ever forget it.

2 Responses to “Noticing Your Blessings: The Impact of Twitter on My Life”

  1. Christina February 17, 2010 at 2:30 am #

    I met Kate back when we were teens and I completely agree with your assessment of her. She is a gem!

  2. sm February 17, 2010 at 4:14 am #

    She’s awesome. Twitter is so much more than 140 characters.

Leave a Reply

