Modern (Single) Girl’s Frustration

13 Jan

Here I am, 22, single, enjoying life.  In a world that puts so much focus on a woman’s supposed need for a man in her life, I find myself content with my independence.  I am happy that at this age, I have the opportunity to experience the world without being tied down.

I have spent the past couple of years enjoying all the the single life has to offer.  I have had more nights out with the girls than should be legal (we like to cause a ruckus), gone on blind dates, met potential suitors online.  I have had casual, fun dates.  I have had stuffy, uncomfortable ones as well.  I have met some great people and made many great friends.  In most cases, neither of us were in a spot where we were looking for something serious and long term.  In some cases, we just didn’t click.  But it was all mostly fun while it lasted.

The one thing that I find very frustrating, though, is that in this day and age, there are few boundaries.  It is commonplace to be propositioned for hook-ups and one night stands.  Some people feel it required to sleep together before a relationship is considered.  And although sex can be important in a relationship, I do not feel that it should be a measurement of my interest or whether I am dateable.  Is sex not supposed to be meaningful at all?

And why is there a double standard?  Some men want a woman to jump into bed with them right away, but after all is said and done and they move on, they look at her as a bit cheaper.  It makes no sense.

So I am saying it here and now:  If you ever want to take me out, do it with the understanding that you WILL NOT be getting me in bed right away.  Do so with the understanding that I will not sleep with you outside of a monogamous relationship.  (This means that if we are casual dating but are not exclusive or defined, I will not sleep with you.)  And do so with the knowledge and understanding that I will walk away the instant you start to push my boundaries and disrespect me.

I am a modern girl in a modern world, but I still have morals and standards, and I still demand respect.

2 Responses to “Modern (Single) Girl’s Frustration”

  1. onlinedatingclinic January 13, 2010 at 12:43 pm #

    Most men will try to get you into bed right away – it’s just how we are genetically programmed! However, they’ll like you much more if they can’t.

    If you want any help with the online dating let me know 🙂

    James Preece – The Dating Guru
    http://www.onlinedatingclinic.com

  2. Chelsea (@FlipFlopsChels on Twitter) January 13, 2010 at 3:07 pm #

    I agree 100% with you! I am the exact same age as you and hate it that men all seem to be like that.

Leave a Reply

